• Welcome to New Hampshire Underground.

News:

Please log in on the special "login" page, not on any of these normal pages. Thank you, The Procrastinating Management

"Let them march all they want, as long as they pay their taxes."  --Alexander Haig

Main Menu

Making Civ. Dis. a little bit easier

Started by David, March 28, 2008, 12:35 PM NHFT

Previous topic - Next topic

David

The most important thing is to do what is important to you. 
While there is room to do a particularly visible, high impact, and publicly 'popular' civ dis, if it is not important enough to you to go to jail over, it should not be what you spend a bulk of your time doing. 

Do what is comfortable.  I am not a lawyer wanna be, so legal speak and procedures are not for me.  But I was very comfortable using the moral route, in my recent registration refuseniking.  That is the route I think I will take, in the future.  To anyone who studies the other folks here that have done civ dis, clear differences in approach are obvious.  While we can talk about effectiveness elsewhere, let me point out some of the differences.  Russell is very verbal and friendly when confronted by police, Lauren is almost completely quiet.  Dave R. argued the constitution, whereas Kat did not.  Dave R. and I cooperated to some degree with the courts, Kat, Russell, and Lauren do not. 

Have a clear goal.  I know the morale people talk about this all the time, but it is important.  Ask yourself, what do you want to accomplish with your act of civ dis.  Be Realistic.  I knew most would not support me in my registration refusenik, so my goal was to effect enforcement of it, rather than trying to pressure change to the law. 
Prepare for it.  Elsewhere Dave R posted various ways to prepare for civ dis.  Be prepared to be arrested.  Not everyone is.  If you get arrested, what about your rent, job, bills, and family.