• Welcome to New Hampshire Underground.

News:

Please log in on the special "login" page, not on any of these normal pages. Thank you, The Procrastinating Management

"Let them march all they want, as long as they pay their taxes."  --Alexander Haig

Main Menu

Open-source MMORPG

Started by dalebert, September 11, 2007, 11:01 AM NHFT

Previous topic - Next topic

dalebert

I've never programmed for a video game before so I'm hoping to pick some brains of other programmers here. As I understand it, there are commercial engines for online games that are at the root of games like World of Warcraft and so on. Is my notion of building open-source code for 3D online games just not feasible? Is it trying to take on too much without a paid staff of people? In my fantasy, a core group of programmers would organize the open-source project and maintain an online database of code and data including the graphics crunching stuph, the database querying stuph, the client-server architecture, etc. People could submit 3D models and other game concepts they've designed that others could use if they like.

People could run the server portion on their machines and allow others to join their "worlds" that they designed. Many of them would be free servers, perhaps shared amongst a tight-knit groups of friends or open to the public, but some might get popular enough that people would be willing to pay some monthly fee for access to the server to play with others. The fees would help them pay for new servers to accommodate more players and so on. The code itself is free which I like because I don't believe in copyrights, but the service (running a world on a server and connecting clients and allowing them to interact) could be charged for.

I love the idea of a virtually endless array of virtual worlds made by creative people to choose from. A pipe dream? Play devil's advocate, please.

lildog