• Welcome to New Hampshire Underground.

News:

Please log in on the special "login" page, not on any of these normal pages. Thank you, The Procrastinating Management

"Let them march all they want, as long as they pay their taxes."  --Alexander Haig

Main Menu

I'm new 'round here!

Started by donttreadonmike, November 27, 2007, 01:45 AM NHFT

Previous topic - Next topic

donttreadonmike

Hey every body! Most people say "I've been lurking around here for a while" but I'm not going to say that because it isn't true. This is my first time here. I was listening to Free Talk Live and Ian mentioned this site. My girlfriend/future-wife and I have seriously considered signing up for the Free State project. We're going to visit Hew Hampshire sometime before we decide though. My only concern is the job situation. I just finished getting my Bachelor's degree in 3D animation. I live in San Diego which is perfect for my field. All of the major video games are made here and if I get sick of that, I can move up to L.A. and work in movies (not likely though). My girlfriend is working on a degree in history/archeology with an emphasis on the ancient middle east. Now, she says she wouldn't have too much of a problem going from studying Mesopotamians to studying Northeastern Native Americans, but I'm concerned about my career field. I know NH has a lot of High Tech jobs but is there any place for an animator there? How about Boston? As a last resort, we could always commute to that hell-hole if we needed to I guess. Anyway thanks for the help.

-Mike

RangerProbst

Hi Mike, welcome to the NH Free forum!

I am also living in CA right now and I hear your pain about careers. There is pretty much no way in hell I am going to be able to work in the same field I am now once I move. I'll find a way to make it work even though I'm going to have to do something else. If this is the sacrifice I have to make for freedom in my lifetime, it's an easy decision.