• Welcome to New Hampshire Underground.

News:

Please log in on the special "login" page, not on any of these normal pages. Thank you, The Procrastinating Management

"Let them march all they want, as long as they pay their taxes."  --Alexander Haig

Main Menu

My Two Rejected Chapters

Started by Jacobus, April 04, 2008, 11:31 AM NHFT

Previous topic - Next topic

Jacobus

Several months ago I saw this:

http://www.mackinac.org/freedominfiction

and thought there might be a story in me.  So I wrote up my two chapters and sent them in.  I was not selected to complete my book, but I thought I would share what I had written here. 

I'm not good at making stuff up.  Most of this is actually non-fiction.

Jacobus

Chapter 1

Mom had just finished her bath and stood by the dinner table in her long, blue robe.  She wanted to prepare her lunch for the next day but was waiting for her towel-wrapped hair to dry.

"Can't you wait for the weekend?  It's already dark."

"They might not wait until the weekend," Dad replied.  Hank had turned the TV down, but Michael and I pretended to remain intent on the Hogan's Heroes rerun.  "And when they come, they'll take whatever they can find."

"The boys have homework they have to do."

Dad made a dismissive reply, somewhere between "bah" and "eh".  Then he turned to me.

"Do you have homework you need to finish tonight?" 

I shook my head.  He turned to Michael.

"Do you have homework you need to finish tonight?" 

Michael also shook his head.

"All right, then.  Follow me."