• Welcome to New Hampshire Underground.

News:

Please log in on the special "login" page, not on any of these normal pages. Thank you, The Procrastinating Management

"Let them march all they want, as long as they pay their taxes."  --Alexander Haig

Main Menu

Cord of Wood

Started by Dreepa, October 07, 2005, 09:55 AM NHFT

Previous topic - Next topic

Dreepa

Hey,

What price are you guys paying for a cord of wood?
Seasoned?  Unseasoned?
Any places you recommend?
Know anything about wood pellets?

This is my first time having a wood burning stove.... and oil is getting expensive.

Thanks,
Chris

KBCraig

Quote from: Dreepa on October 07, 2005, 09:55 AM NHFT
This is my first time having a wood burning stove.... and oil is getting expensive.

So is wood!

Here in Texas, seasoned oak runs about $135 per cord, delivered. As cool weather gets here, it goes up to about $150.

I'd like a wood stove, but we have a fireplace. The fireplace is a net loss on heating; we have to burn more gas to replace the heat that goes up the chimney.  :-\

Pellet stoves are good, and efficient. The only caveat is that they do require electricity, so they can let you down during a winter storm if power goes out. I realize that's not as big a problem in NH, where the power lines are ready for winter.

Kevin

Dreepa

Yeah I have heard quotes of $200 for a cord here.... I wanted to see if I was in the ballpark.

Can I burn pellets in a 'regular' woodburning stove?

AlanM

Here in the seacoast I have heard folks say that cordwood is over $250. Of course this time of year it could be higher.

KBCraig

Quote from: Dreepa on October 07, 2005, 10:18 AM NHFT
Can I burn pellets in a 'regular' woodburning stove?

I suppose you could, but they'd hardly work as intended.

The pellets are designed to drop into a burn chamber, where they burn very completely and intensely. It's like dripping fuel oil onto a burner plate, except the fuel in this case is solid.

Kevin

Dreepa

ok found this....