• Welcome to New Hampshire Underground.

News:

Please log in on the special "login" page, not on any of these normal pages. Thank you, The Procrastinating Management

"Let them march all they want, as long as they pay their taxes."  --Alexander Haig

Main Menu

Surviving PorcFest '06

Started by Lex, June 06, 2006, 01:08 PM NHFT

Previous topic - Next topic

Lex

I would like to start a thread on ideas for how we can use the upcoming porcfest to share and practice some self-sufficiency/survivalism. This is mostly for those who will be sleeping in tents.

So, my first question:

I don't have a tent and need to buy one for PorcFest, any recommendations, suggestions? Anyone really like theirs? Any tents we should steer clear of?

Pat K

Like to help but this is my first time camping in about 25 years, so if you see a screwed up camp site and hear cursing its me.

Fluff and Stuff

The cheapest way to get a decent tent is to go to a discount retailer and buy a big tent for very little and two water proof tarps.  Put one under the tent and hang the other one from trees above the tent.  I prefer small, expensive hiking tents, but I doubt you are looking for that.

Lex

Quote from: Keith and Stuff on June 06, 2006, 01:38 PM NHFT
I prefer small, expensive hiking tents, but I doubt you are looking for that.

Actually that's what I'm looking for... I mean I've gone camping lots of times, even week long biking trips, etc. I just don't own a tent and don't have a good idea of what's out there. Are there any brands that are particularly good?

I would like to buy something of quality but not spend a fortune of course. What tent do you have?

aries

Hmm I'll be just commuting to a few porcfest events. I'm too close to stay there.

Fluff and Stuff