• Welcome to New Hampshire Underground.

News:

Please log in on the special "login" page, not on any of these normal pages. Thank you, The Procrastinating Management

"Let them march all they want, as long as they pay their taxes."  --Alexander Haig

Main Menu

Property Tax Question

Started by Grunt, January 03, 2005, 02:02 PM NHFT

Previous topic - Next topic

Grunt

Anyone know what the median property tax is in NH? Does it fluctuate wildly depending on location, or is it generally within a few points state-wide?

The reason I ask is that I am a disabled veteran, and according to one regulation I saw, 100% disabled vets are immune to property tax up to $2000 per year. I wont be able to afford more then a $100,000 house, so I should plan accordingly.

Can I get some love here?

VETERANS CREDIT
1) The veteran must be a resident of the State of New Hampshire for at least one (1) year previous to April 1st of the year in which the credit is applied for, 2) has to have served not less than ninety (90) days in the Armed Forces of the United States in a war or conflict as outlined in RSA 72:28; 3) must have been honorably discharged. 4.) for services in any armed conflict since May 8, 1975 must have either a.) Armed Forces expeditionary medal or B.) theater of operation service medal.

A credit in the amount of $100.00 is applied to the amount of tax due. A credit of $2,000 is also available to the Veteran if he/she is 100% permanently disabled as a result of a service connected injury.  Documentation from the US Veteran's Administration is required.  This applies also to widows (who have not remarried) of disabled veterans. A copy of the DD214 or discharge paper is required when applying.

http://www.derry.nh.us/assessor/default.htm

Kat Kanning

As I understand it, the tax varies quite a bit across NH.  Here are the exemptions for Keene:

http://www.ci.keene.nh.us/assessing/exemptionsandcredits.htm

AlanM