• Welcome to New Hampshire Underground.

News:

Please log in on the special "login" page, not on any of these normal pages. Thank you, The Procrastinating Management

"Let them march all they want, as long as they pay their taxes."  --Alexander Haig

Main Menu

"Studded" v. "Snow" tires?

Started by PowerPenguin, February 15, 2008, 05:21 PM NHFT

Previous topic - Next topic

PowerPenguin

Is there a difference between studded and "snow" tires? (See http://www.edmunds.com/ownership/safety/articles/124638/article.html for a mention of 'snow' tires) How useful are one or both of these options, and do you use them yourself? I have "all weather" tires that came with my car (a '01 Forester), and I have very little experience with snow/ice driving. Any tips in this arena would be good. As far as the snow tires go, Do you have to have two sets of tires like you would if you were using studded, or no? I'd rather not have to spend the $ and time having/switching out two full sets of tires all the time if I don't have to, but I'll do it if it really helps with tire grip in winter conditions.

ny2nh

Studded snow tires actually have little studs in them. Snow tires just have different tread. I have not used real snow tires in years...but when I did, yes, I had two sets of tires, regulars and snows. From what I remember there was also a time window that you could use studded tires - as I presume they wear on the road more.

Driving in the snow and ice takes a little getting used to but overall isn't that big of a deal....but I grew up in the Northeast.

I'll be curious to read what people that moved here from non-snow parts of the country say.....

Tom Sawyer

We have all season radials on our Subaru Outback and they work fine. They plow the roads well up here. The all season radials also handle better on the non snow covered roads than snow tires do. We just get fresh tires when they get older and start to lose their edge.

Puke